Return To The Sea

Details Book:
Author by Anne M. Johnson
Genre : Life
Editor : New World Library
ISBN : 1880913623
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 148
Download →

In 1955, Anne Morrow Lindbergh published her timeless book of reflections, Gift from the Sea. This perennial favorite used the metaphor of seashells to explore the inner spiritual path, gently guiding readers to practice simplifying, quieting, shedding, and centering in a too-frantic world. Two generations later, in a far more fast-paced world, Anne M. Johnson asks women to discover the beauty and meaning of Lindbergh's timeless "shells" all over again. In Return to the Sea, she uses experiences from her own spiritual journey -- as a busy mother, career woman, and therapist -- to offer a renewed vision of ways to create intentional space in our lives for personal and spiritual growth. Shell illustrations, along with centering exercises, meditations, and journal-writing exercises, enhance each chapter's reflections on Lindbergh's original "shell" passages. Readers who loved Gift from the Sea the first time -- and women who have yet to be introduced -- welcome these reflections in a beautiful new gift edition.


Gifts From The Sea

Details Book:
Author by Natalie Kinsey
Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Yearling
ISBN : 9780307527950
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 128
Download →

Quila MacFarlane is devastated by the death of her mother, especially now that it’s just her and her father on Devils Rock where her father is the lighthouse keeper. They can’t leave and almost no one ever comes to visit them. But the morning after a storm, something floats ashore that changes their lives forever: Two small mattresses strapped together, and inside, a baby! They name her Cecelia, which means “a gift from the sea,” and call her Celia. She makes them a family again–and helps heal the hurt left by Quila’s mother’s passing. Two years later, though, another stranger arrives, one who changes everything all over again: A woman named Margaret, come looking for the final resting place of her sister, whose ship had gone down in a storm two years before. Her sister’s baby had never been found, either, she explains, and now she has no family of her own. Could this be Celia’s aunt? Will Quila have to give up Celia so Margaret can have her own family back? This is a gripping tale full of love, loss, and healing.


Anne Morrow Lindbergh

Details Book:
Author by Susan Hertog
Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Anchor
ISBN : 9780307874214
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 608
Download →

An illuminating portrait of Anne Morrow Lindbergh--loyal wife, devoted mother, pioneering aviator, and critically acclaimed author of the bestselling Gift from the Sea. Anne Morrow Lindbergh has been one of the most admired women and most popular writers of our time. Her Gift from the Sea is a perennial favorite. But the woman behind the public person has remained largely unknown. Drawing on five years of exclusive interviews with Anne Morrow Lindbergh as well as countless diaries, letters, and other documents, Susan Hertog now gives us the woman whose triumphs, struggles and elegant perseverance riveted the public for much of the twentieth century.


A Fish And A Gift

Details Book:
Author by Liesl Jobson
Genre :
Editor : Bookdash
ISBN : PKEY:9fde3514-02de-4eb8-9dc2-2e55aa611e95
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages :
Download →

Yusuf waits on the beach while Papa pushes out his boat. Surfers, turtles and sharks come from the sea. What will Papa bring back for Yusuf?


The Aviator S Wife

Details Book:
Author by Melanie Benjamin
Genre : Fiction
Editor : Bantam
ISBN : 9780345528674
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 417
Download →

A story inspired by the marriage between Charles and Anne Morrow Lindbergh traces the romance between a handsome young aviator and a shy ambassador's daughter whose relationship is marked by wild international acclaim, history-making flights and the world-shocking abduction of their child. 30,000 first printing.


The Twelve Gifts From The Garden

Details Book:
Author by Charlene Costanzo
Genre : Body, Mind & Spirit
Editor : Mango Media Inc.
ISBN : 9781642503739
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 197
Download →

The author of Opening the Gifts shares essays inspired by nature and the life lessons she learned while pausing to reflect during rough points in her life. During a tropical storm. In the aftermath of chemotherapy. Amid marital discord. These are among the times author Charlene Costanzo found comfort, joy, hope, and healing in Sanibel Island’s botanical garden. She also learned a few things. Eventually she amassed a collection of wisdom from these experiences and now, she shares these insights with you. If you look closely, plants sprout with willpower and bloom with determination. Drawing from the beautiful nature of trees and flowers, Charlene crafts garden-inspired messages from her experiences with healing and understanding. Inside, find quotes, reflections, and even bonus material: Pen-and-ink line drawings with illustrations of flowers, leaves, and garden plants Charlene’s Twelve Gifts resource and lessons learned in the garden An epilogue from two other locales: Sedona, Arizona, and St. John in the U.S. Virgin Islands Each gift-from-the-garden message asks readers to imagine walking in the author’s sandals—or at least by her side—and try to perceive as she did. The journey is sometimes whimsical, often idealistic, and always encouraging. Charlene hopes that this book will ultimately enrich and empower readers as they journey through life in their own shoes. Perfect for readers of Anne Morrow Lindbergh Praise for The Twelve Gifts from the Garden “With the wonder of a child, the introspection of a mature woman, and the wisdom of the elders, Charlene Costanzo inspires us to discover the hidden treasures of nature.” —Gloria Gaynor, Grammy Award–winning singer and author of I Will Survive: The Book and We Will Survive: True Stories of Encouragement, Inspiration, and the Power of Song “This book is a feast, a dream, a wondrous adventure.” —Sherry Richert Belul, founder of Simply Celebrate and author of Say It Now “A joyful read bursting with the beauty of nature and reflections of lessons learned in life . . . . Most mornings, reading her reflections gives me goosebumps because they are like having a cup of coffee with God . . . . This is a wonderful book to gift yourself and others!” —Gina La Benz, author of Anchor Moments: Hope, Healing, and Forgiveness


Against Wind And Tide

Details Book:
Author by Anne Morrow Lindbergh
Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Pantheon
ISBN : 9780375714924
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 385
Download →

In this final collection of Anne Morrow Lindbergh’s letters and journals, we mark Mrs. Lindbergh’s progress as she navigated a remarkable life and a remarkable century with enthusiasm and delight, humor and wit, sorrow and bewilderment, but above all devoted to finding the essential truth in life’s experiences through a hard-won spirituality and a passion for literature. Between the inevitable squalls of life with her beloved but elusive husband, the aviator Charles A. Lindbergh, she shepherded their five children through whooping cough, horned toads, fiancés, the Vietnam War, and their own personal tragedies. She researched and wrote books and articles on issues ranging from the condition of Europe after World War II to the meaning of marriage to the launch of Apollo 8. She published one of the most beloved books of inspiration of all time, Gift from the Sea. She left penetrating accounts of meetings with such luminaries as John and Jacqueline Kennedy, Thornton Wilder, Enrico Fermi, Leland and Slim Hayward, and the Frank Lloyd Wrights. And she found time to compose extraordinarily insightful and moving letters of consolation to friends and to others whose losses touched her deeply. Against Wind and Tide makes us privy to the demons that plagued this fairy-tale bride, and introduces us to some of the people—men as well as women—who provided solace as she braved the tides of time and aging, war and politics, birth and death. Here is an eloquent and often startling collection of writings from one of the most admired women of our time. (With 8 pages of black-and-white photographs.)


A Year By The Sea

Details Book:
Author by Joan Anderson
Genre : Social Science
Editor : Crown
ISBN : 9780307777904
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 208
Download →

The basis for the major motion picture of the same name. An entrancing memoir of how one woman's journey of self-discovery gave her the courage to persevere in re-creating her life. Life is a work in progress, as ever-changing as a sandy shoreline along the beach. During the years Joan Anderson was a loving wife and supportive mother, she had slowly and unconsciously replaced her own dreams with the needs of her family. With her sons grown, however, she realized that the family no longer centered on the home she provided, and her relationship with her husband had become stagnant. Like many women in her situation, Joan realized that she had neglected to nurture herself and, worse, to envision fulfilling goals for her future. As her husband received a wonderful job opportunity out-of-state, it seemed that the best part of her own life was finished. Shocking both of them, she refused to follow him to his new job and decided to retreat to a family cottage on Cape Cod. At first casting about for direction, Joan soon began to take pleasure in her surroundings and call on resources she didn't realize she had. Over the course of a year, she gradually discovered that her life as an "unfinished woman" was full of possibilities. Out of that magical, difficult, transformative year came A Year by the Sea, a record of her experiences and a treasury of wisdom for readers.


North To The Orient

Details Book:
Author by Anne Morrow Lindbergh
Genre : Aeronautics
Editor : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN : 0156671409
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 172
Download →

Originally published: New York: Harcourt, Brace and Co., c1935.


Gift From The Sea

Details Book:
Author by Anne Morrow Lindbergh
Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Pantheon
ISBN : 9780679732419
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 144
Download →

50th ANNIVERSARY EDITION • With meditations on youth and age, love and marriage, peace, solitude, and contentment, here is an inimitable classic that guides us to find a space for contemplation and creativity in our own lives. "Gift from the Sea is like a shell itself in its small and perfect form ... It tells of light and life and love and the security that lies at the heart." —New York Times Book Review Drawing inspiration from the the shells on the shore, Lindbergh's musings on the shape of a woman's life will bring new understanding to readers, male and family, at any stage of life. A mother of five and professional writer, she casts an unsentimental eye at the trappings of modern life that threaten to overwhelm us—the timesaving gadgets that complicate our lives, the overcommitments that take us from our families. With great wisdom and insight she describes the shifting shapes of relationships and marriage, presenting a vision of a life lived in enduring and evolving partnership. A groundbreaking work when it was first published, this book has retained its freshness as it has been rediscovered by generations of readers and is no less current today.